Southwestern University of Finance and Economics 2026 Belt and Road Scholarship for International Students

Government/University Scholarship

Southwestern University of Finance and Economics 2026 Belt and Road Scholarship for International Students

ClosedVerified

Southwestern University of Finance and Economics 2026 Belt and Road Scholarship for International Students. Eligible study levels: Bachelor’s, Master’s. Funding: Scholarships are divided into full and partial scholarships: (1) Full scholarship 1. Tuition 2. On-campus accommodation 3. Living expenses (2) Partial scholarship Tuition waiver only

TuitionAccommodation
Scholarship type
Government/University Scholarship
Degree level
Bachelor / Master
Location
Sichuan · Chengdu
Application deadline
2026-04-03

Overview

Southwestern University of Finance and Economics 2026 Belt and Road Scholarship for International Students. Eligible study levels: Bachelor’s

Master’s. Funding: Scholarships are divided into full and partial scholarships:

(1) Full scholarship

1. Tuition

2. On-campus accommodation

3. Living expenses

Funding coverage

Scholarship TypeGovernment/University Scholarship
UniversitySouthwestern University of Finance and Economics
ProvinceSichuan
TuitionCovered
AccommodationCovered
Medical InsuranceNot specified
Subsidy StandardScholarships are divided into full and partial scholarships: (1) Full scholarship 1. Tuition 2. On-campus accommodation 3. Living expenses (2) Partial scholarship Tuition waiver only
Other BenefitsApplicants are not concurrently receiving Chinese Government Scholarship funding
Coverage ScopeScholarships are divided into full and partial scholarships: (1) Full scholarship 1. Tuition 2. On-campus accommodation 3. Living expenses (2) Partial scholarship Tuition waiver only
Application Linkhttps://international.swufe.edu.cn/zsxx1/jxj/xncjdx_ydyl_jxj.htm

Funding tiers

Eligibility may differ by tier. Check the applicable degree and requirements.

Full scholarship

Eligible degree
Bachelor’s, Master’s
Funding
Full scholarship and [source fragment]
Tier requirements
(1) Non-Chinese citizens with valid foreign passport, good physical/mental health and excellent grades, meeting the Nationality Law, Ministry of Education Jiaowaihan [2020] No. 12 and other laws/regulations; (2) Compliance with Chinese laws/regulations and university rules; (3) Meet either academic condition: 1. Current-year high school graduates (bachelor’s) or undergraduate graduates (master’s) must obtain the corresponding nationally recognized degree certificate before enrollment in the admission year, otherwise admission invalid [the source uses degree certificate for both]; 2. Nationally recognized high school graduation (bachelor’s) or undergraduate graduation (master’s). (4) Age 1. Bachelor’s: 18-30; 2. Master’s: 18-35; Age assessed with reference to before September 1,2026. (5) Language requirements 1. Chinese-taught majors (1) Applicants with more than two years of Chinese-taught subject study may omit Chinese test evidence; (2) Chinese-taught applicants must provide HSK, with a minimum of passing HSK Level 5 and at least 60 in each subject. 2. English-taught majors (1) Native English speakers or applicants with more than two years of English-taught subject study may omit English test evidence; (2) Non-native English-speaking undergraduates require IELTS 6.0, TOEFL 80 or Duoling 105 or above; non-native English-speaking graduate applicants require IELTS 6.5, TOEFL 95 or Duoling 120 or above. [Duoling is the source’s test name.] 3. Above language requirements are minimums. (6) No concurrent Chinese Government Scholarship; (7) Applicants complete the scholarship application independently themselves.

Partial scholarship

Eligible degree
Bachelor’s, Master’s
Funding
Partial scholarships; two categories: (1) [source fragment]
Tier requirements
(1) Non-Chinese citizens with valid foreign passport, good physical/mental health and excellent grades, meeting the Nationality Law, Ministry of Education Jiaowaihan [2020] No. 12 and other laws/regulations; (2) Compliance with Chinese laws/regulations and university rules; (3) Meet either academic condition: 1. Current-year high school graduates (bachelor’s) or undergraduate graduates (master’s) must obtain the corresponding nationally recognized degree certificate before enrollment in the admission year, otherwise admission invalid [the source uses degree certificate for both]; 2. Nationally recognized high school graduation (bachelor’s) or undergraduate graduation (master’s). (4) Age 1. Bachelor’s: 18-30; 2. Master’s: 18-35; Age assessed with reference to before September 1,2026. (5) Language requirements 1. Chinese-taught majors (1) Applicants with more than two years of Chinese-taught subject study may omit Chinese test evidence; (2) Chinese-taught applicants must provide HSK, with a minimum of passing HSK Level 5 and at least 60 in each subject. 2. English-taught majors (1) Native English speakers or applicants with more than two years of English-taught subject study may omit English test evidence; (2) Non-native English-speaking undergraduates require IELTS 6.0, TOEFL 80 or Duoling 105 or above; non-native English-speaking graduate applicants require IELTS 6.5, TOEFL 95 or Duoling 120 or above. [Duoling is the source’s test name.] 3. Above language requirements are minimums. (6) No concurrent Chinese Government Scholarship; (7) Applicants complete the scholarship application independently themselves.

Full scholarship

Eligible degree
Bachelor’s, Master’s
Funding
Full scholarship 1. Tuition 2. On-campus accommodation 3. Living expenses (2)
Tier requirements
(1) Non-Chinese citizens with valid foreign passport, good physical/mental health and excellent grades, meeting the Nationality Law, Ministry of Education Jiaowaihan [2020] No. 12 and other laws/regulations; (2) Compliance with Chinese laws/regulations and university rules; (3) Meet either academic condition: 1. Current-year high school graduates (bachelor’s) or undergraduate graduates (master’s) must obtain the corresponding nationally recognized degree certificate before enrollment in the admission year, otherwise admission invalid [the source uses degree certificate for both]; 2. Nationally recognized high school graduation (bachelor’s) or undergraduate graduation (master’s). (4) Age 1. Bachelor’s: 18-30; 2. Master’s: 18-35; Age assessed with reference to before September 1,2026. (5) Language requirements 1. Chinese-taught majors (1) Applicants with more than two years of Chinese-taught subject study may omit Chinese test evidence; (2) Chinese-taught applicants must provide HSK, with a minimum of passing HSK Level 5 and at least 60 in each subject. 2. English-taught majors (1) Native English speakers or applicants with more than two years of English-taught subject study may omit English test evidence; (2) Non-native English-speaking undergraduates require IELTS 6.0, TOEFL 80 or Duoling 105 or above; non-native English-speaking graduate applicants require IELTS 6.5, TOEFL 95 or Duoling 120 or above. [Duoling is the source’s test name.] 3. Above language requirements are minimums. (6) No concurrent Chinese Government Scholarship; (7) Applicants complete the scholarship application independently themselves.

Partial scholarship

Eligible degree
Bachelor’s, Master’s
Funding
Partial scholarship Tuition waiver only
Tier requirements
(1) Non-Chinese citizens with valid foreign passport, good physical/mental health and excellent grades, meeting the Nationality Law, Ministry of Education Jiaowaihan [2020] No. 12 and other laws/regulations; (2) Compliance with Chinese laws/regulations and university rules; (3) Meet either academic condition: 1. Current-year high school graduates (bachelor’s) or undergraduate graduates (master’s) must obtain the corresponding nationally recognized degree certificate before enrollment in the admission year, otherwise admission invalid [the source uses degree certificate for both]; 2. Nationally recognized high school graduation (bachelor’s) or undergraduate graduation (master’s). (4) Age 1. Bachelor’s: 18-30; 2. Master’s: 18-35; Age assessed with reference to before September 1,2026. (5) Language requirements 1. Chinese-taught majors (1) Applicants with more than two years of Chinese-taught subject study may omit Chinese test evidence; (2) Chinese-taught applicants must provide HSK, with a minimum of passing HSK Level 5 and at least 60 in each subject. 2. English-taught majors (1) Native English speakers or applicants with more than two years of English-taught subject study may omit English test evidence; (2) Non-native English-speaking undergraduates require IELTS 6.0, TOEFL 80 or Duoling 105 or above; non-native English-speaking graduate applicants require IELTS 6.5, TOEFL 95 or Duoling 120 or above. [Duoling is the source’s test name.] 3. Above language requirements are minimums. (6) No concurrent Chinese Government Scholarship; (7) Applicants complete the scholarship application independently themselves.

Requirements & documents

Application Requirements(1) Non-Chinese citizens with valid foreign passport, good physical/mental health and excellent grades, meeting the Nationality Law, Ministry of Education Jiaowaihan [2020] No. 12 and other laws/regulations; (2) Compliance with Chinese laws/regulations and university rules; (3) Meet either academic condition: 1. Current-year high school graduates (bachelor’s) or undergraduate graduates (master’s) must obtain the corresponding nationally recognized degree certificate before enrollment in the admission year, otherwise admission invalid [the source uses degree certificate for both]; 2. Nationally recognized high school graduation (bachelor’s) or undergraduate graduation (master’s). (4) Age 1. Bachelor’s: 18-30; 2. Master’s: 18-35; Age assessed with reference to before September 1,2026. (5) Language requirements 1. Chinese-taught majors (1) Applicants with more than two years of Chinese-taught subject study may omit Chinese test evidence; (2) Chinese-taught applicants must provide HSK, with a minimum of passing HSK Level 5 and at least 60 in each subject. 2. English-taught majors (1) Native English speakers or applicants with more than two years of English-taught subject study may omit English test evidence; (2) Non-native English-speaking undergraduates require IELTS 6.0, TOEFL 80 or Duoling 105 or above; non-native English-speaking graduate applicants require IELTS 6.5, TOEFL 95 or Duoling 120 or above. [Duoling is the source’s test name.] 3. Above language requirements are minimums. (6) No concurrent Chinese Government Scholarship; (7) Applicants complete the scholarship application independently themselves.
Major RestrictionsAccounting; Business Administration; Economics; Finance; International Economics and Trade (Bilingual Experimental Class); International Business (Bilingual Experimental Class); Marketing; Supply Chain Management; Human Resource Management; Business Administration (Bilingual Experimental Class); Financial Engineering; Accounting (Big Data Accounting); Financial Management; Auditing; Public Finance; Taxation; Investment; Statistics; Data Science; Economic Statistics; Artificial Intelligence; Computer Science and Technology; Data Science and Big Data Technology; Cyberspace Security; Law; English; Business English; Administrative Management; Labor and Social Security; Financial Mathematics; Chinese Language and Literature; Journalism; Internet and New Media; E-Commerce (AI Business); Information Management and Information Systems; Management Science; Computational Finance; Enterprise Management; Western Economics; Policy Science and Public Administration Innovation (Public Governance and Sustainable Development); Public Economic Institutions and Policy (Chinese Economy and Sustainable Development); Socioeconomics (Socioeconomic Policy and Sustainable Development); World Economy; Development Economics; International Business; International Trade; Area and Country Studies; Business English Studies; Foreign Linguistics and Applied Linguistics; English Language and Literature; Translation Studies; Country and Regional Studies; Marketing Management; Tourism Management; Logistics and Supply Chain Management; Big Data Management; Social Medicine and Health Service Management; Educational Economics and Management; Labor Economics; Social Security; Computer Science and Technology; Population, Resources and Environmental Economics; Political Economy; Mathematical Finance; Mathematics; Quantitative Economics; Statistics; Taxation; Public Finance; Criminal Law; International Law; Constitutional and Administrative Law; Civil and Commercial Law; Legal Theory; Law and Economics; Environmental and Resource Protection Law; Intellectual Property Law; Economic Law; Procedural Law; Financial Law; Social Work; Sociology; Demography; Folklore; Social Psychology; Rural Economic Management; Agricultural Economic Management; Industrial Economics; Agricultural Economics; Regional Economics; National Economics; Circulation Economics; Consumer Economics; Management Science and Engineering (Business Artificial Intelligence); Management Science and Engineering; Philosophy of Economics; Behavioral Economics
GPASubject to excellent academic performance and the host institution’s requirements
Language Requirements1. Chinese-taught majors (1) Applicants with more than two years of Chinese-taught subject study may omit Chinese test evidence; (2) Chinese-taught applicants must provide HSK, with a minimum of passing HSK Level 5 and at least 60 in each subject. 2. English-taught majors (1) Native English speakers or applicants with more than two years of English-taught subject study may omit English test evidence; (2) Non-native English-speaking undergraduates require IELTS 6.0, TOEFL 80 or Duoling 105 or above; non-native English-speaking graduate applicants require IELTS 6.5, TOEFL 95 or Duoling 120 or above. [Duoling is the source’s test name.]
Teaching LanguagePrograms taught entirely in English are exempt from HSK; IELTS / TOEFL or proof of English-medium instruction is required
Required MaterialsUpload the following documents online before the deadline: 1. ID photograph without head covering taken within half a year 2. Notarized highest educational qualification certificate or pre-graduation certificate Current students must submit an expected graduation certificate issued by their institution, stating that they will obtain their graduation certificate before August 31, 2026. 3. Complete transcripts for the highest educational qualification 4. China Scholastic Competency Assessment (CSCA) score report issued under China’s Ministry of Education (undergraduate applicants only) 5. Recommendation letters Master’s and doctoral applicants must submit two letters from professors or associate professors (or experts with equivalent professional technical titles). 6. Study or research plan for study in China The plan must contain at least 500 characters for bachelor’s applicants and at least 1,000 for master’s and doctoral applicants. The source does not specify the writing language. 7. Proof of language proficiency 8. Passport personal information page Provide a clear scan of the first page of an ordinary passport valid beyond March 1, 2027. Renew promptly if the current passport does not qualify. Applicants unable to obtain a passport before application for objective reasons may, with university permission, submit a valid identity document or certificate stating their name, gender, nationality, date of birth, etc. 9. Foreigner Physical Examination Record (click to download the template) A doctor must complete the form in Chinese or English. All required items must be examined. Missing items, no personal photograph or no stamp across it, or no physician and hospital signatures/seals invalidate the form. The record is valid for 6 months. 10. Certificate of No Criminal Record (click to download the template) Applicants must submit a valid certificate of no criminal record issued by the local public security authorities, generally issued within the six months preceding application submission. Applicants genuinely unable to provide one must sign and upload the Declaration of No Criminal Record. 11. Financial Guarantee Certificate (click to download the template) The financial guarantor must be a natural person with full civil capacity, at least 18, with a stable income. The guarantor must complete the Financial Guarantee truthfully and provide a scan of their original passport first page or identity card. 12. Students graduating in China must submit their Chinese residence permit page and a performance certificate issued by their current institution. 13. Other certificates, proof of awards, abstracts of published academic articles and similar materials, if any.
Sourcehttps://lh65breby7.feishu.cn/wiki/TAxpwuS1TiFoeZklj20caqHnnte?sheet=1dnfky&range=A30
Source NotesSouthwestern University of Finance and Economics — 2026 application guide and funding details for Southwestern University of Finance and Economics 2026 Belt and Road Scholarship for International Students (verified by the user)
Noteshttps://international.swufe.edu.cn/zsxx1/jxj/xncjdx_ydyl_jxj.htm
University groupingFirst group of additional universities for the Vietnamese market
Application materialsUpload the following documents online before the deadline: 1. ID photograph without head covering taken within half a year 2. Notarized highest educational qualification certificate or pre-graduation certificate Current students must submit an expected graduation certificate issued by their institution, stating that they will obtain their graduation certificate before August 31, 2026. 3. Complete transcripts for the highest educational qualification 4. China Scholastic Competency Assessment (CSCA) score report issued under China’s Ministry of Education (undergraduate applicants only) 5. Recommendation letters Master’s and doctoral applicants must submit two letters from professors or associate professors (or experts with equivalent professional technical titles). 6. Study or research plan for study in China The plan must contain at least 500 characters for bachelor’s applicants and at least 1,000 for master’s and doctoral applicants. The source does not specify the writing language. 7. Proof of language proficiency 8. Passport personal information page Provide a clear scan of the first page of an ordinary passport valid beyond March 1, 2027. Renew promptly if the current passport does not qualify. Applicants unable to obtain a passport before application for objective reasons may, with university permission, submit a valid identity document or certificate stating their name, gender, nationality, date of birth, etc. 9. Foreigner Physical Examination Record (click to download the template) A doctor must complete the form in Chinese or English. All required items must be examined. Missing items, no personal photograph or no stamp across it, or no physician and hospital signatures/seals invalidate the form. The record is valid for 6 months. 10. Certificate of No Criminal Record (click to download the template) Applicants must submit a valid certificate of no criminal record issued by the local public security authorities, generally issued within the six months preceding application submission. Applicants genuinely unable to provide one must sign and upload the Declaration of No Criminal Record. 11. Financial Guarantee Certificate (click to download the template) The financial guarantor must be a natural person with full civil capacity, at least 18, with a stable income. The guarantor must complete the Financial Guarantee truthfully and provide a scan of their original passport first page or identity card. 12. Students graduating in China must submit their Chinese residence permit page and a performance certificate issued by their current institution. 13. Other certificates, proof of awards, abstracts of published academic articles and similar materials, if any.
Application requirements(1) Non-Chinese citizens with valid foreign passport, good physical/mental health and excellent grades, meeting the Nationality Law, Ministry of Education Jiaowaihan [2020] No. 12 and other laws/regulations; (2) Compliance with Chinese laws/regulations and university rules; (3) Meet either academic condition: 1. Current-year high school graduates (bachelor’s) or undergraduate graduates (master’s) must obtain the corresponding nationally recognized degree certificate before enrollment in the admission year, otherwise admission invalid [the source uses degree certificate for both]; 2. Nationally recognized high school graduation (bachelor’s) or undergraduate graduation (master’s). (4) Age 1. Bachelor’s: 18-30; 2. Master’s: 18-35; Age assessed with reference to before September 1,2026. (5) Language requirements 1. Chinese-taught majors (1) Applicants with more than two years of Chinese-taught subject study may omit Chinese test evidence; (2) Chinese-taught applicants must provide HSK, with a minimum of passing HSK Level 5 and at least 60 in each subject. 2. English-taught majors (1) Native English speakers or applicants with more than two years of English-taught subject study may omit English test evidence; (2) Non-native English-speaking undergraduates require IELTS 6.0, TOEFL 80 or Duoling 105 or above; non-native English-speaking graduate applicants require IELTS 6.5, TOEFL 95 or Duoling 120 or above. [Duoling is the source’s test name.] 3. Above language requirements are minimums. (6) No concurrent Chinese Government Scholarship; (7) Applicants complete the scholarship application independently themselves.
CoverageScholarships are divided into full and partial scholarships: (1) Full scholarship 1. Tuition 2. On-campus accommodation 3. Living expenses (2) Partial scholarship Tuition waiver only
Language requirements1. Chinese-taught majors (1) Applicants with more than two years of Chinese-taught subject study may omit Chinese test evidence; (2) Chinese-taught applicants must provide HSK, with a minimum of passing HSK Level 5 and at least 60 in each subject. 2. English-taught majors (1) Native English speakers or applicants with more than two years of English-taught subject study may omit English test evidence; (2) Non-native English-speaking undergraduates require IELTS 6.0, TOEFL 80 or Duoling 105 or above; non-native English-speaking graduate applicants require IELTS 6.5, TOEFL 95 or Duoling 120 or above. [Duoling is the source’s test name.]
Eligible majorsAccounting; Business Administration; Economics; Finance; International Economics and Trade (Bilingual Experimental Class); International Business (Bilingual Experimental Class); Marketing; Supply Chain Management; Human Resource Management; Business Administration (Bilingual Experimental Class); Financial Engineering; Accounting (Big Data Accounting); Financial Management; Auditing; Public Finance; Taxation; Investment; Statistics; Data Science; Economic Statistics; Artificial Intelligence; Computer Science and Technology; Data Science and Big Data Technology; Cyberspace Security; Law; English; Business English; Administrative Management; Labor and Social Security; Financial Mathematics; Chinese Language and Literature; Journalism; Internet and New Media; E-Commerce (AI Business); Information Management and Information Systems; Management Science; Computational Finance; Enterprise Management; Western Economics; Policy Science and Public Administration Innovation (Public Governance and Sustainable Development); Public Economic Institutions and Policy (Chinese Economy and Sustainable Development); Socioeconomics (Socioeconomic Policy and Sustainable Development); World Economy; Development Economics; International Business; International Trade; Area and Country Studies; Business English Studies; Foreign Linguistics and Applied Linguistics; English Language and Literature; Translation Studies; Country and Regional Studies; Marketing Management; Tourism Management; Logistics and Supply Chain Management; Big Data Management; Social Medicine and Health Service Management; Educational Economics and Management; Labor Economics; Social Security; Computer Science and Technology; Population, Resources and Environmental Economics; Political Economy; Mathematical Finance; Mathematics; Quantitative Economics; Statistics; Taxation; Public Finance; Criminal Law; International Law; Constitutional and Administrative Law; Civil and Commercial Law; Legal Theory; Law and Economics; Environmental and Resource Protection Law; Intellectual Property Law; Economic Law; Procedural Law; Financial Law; Social Work; Sociology; Demography; Folklore; Social Psychology; Rural Economic Management; Agricultural Economic Management; Industrial Economics; Agricultural Economics; Regional Economics; National Economics; Circulation Economics; Consumer Economics; Management Science and Engineering (Business Artificial Intelligence); Management Science and Engineering; Philosophy of Economics; Behavioral Economics
Scholarship typeNot specified on the official website
University name in Chinese*Southwestern University of Finance and Economics
Application opening dateJanuary 1, 2026 (Beijing time)
Application deadlineApril 30 (Beijing time)
Scholarship name in Chinese*Southwestern University of Finance and Economics 2026 Belt and Road Scholarship for International Students
Eligible study levels*Bachelor’s, Master’s
Scholarship verification status*Verified (confirmed by user)
Whether a separate application is requiredNot specified on the official website
Rules on holding other scholarships concurrentlyApplicants are not concurrently receiving Chinese Government Scholarship funding
Application Rule 1name: Full scholarship; description: Includes tuition, on-campus accommodation and living expenses.
Application Rule 2name: Partial scholarship; description: Tuition waiver only; accommodation and living-expense benefits from the full tier are not applied to the partial tier.
Application Rule 3name: Coverage; description: Scholarships are divided into full and partial scholarships: (1) Full scholarship 1. Tuition 2. On-campus accommodation 3. Living expenses (2) Partial scholarship Tuition waiver only
Application Rule 4name: Application opening date; description: January 1, 2026 (Beijing time)
Application Rule 5name: Application deadline; description: April 30 (Beijing time)
Application Rule 6name: Rules on holding other scholarships concurrently; description: Applicants are not concurrently receiving Chinese Government Scholarship funding

Application dates & process

Application Opens: 1/1 Application Deadline: 4/3 Review Cycle: Document review and interviews / expert review take approximately 4–6 weeks

Universities & programs

Universities

About the university

Southwestern University of Finance and Economics (SWUFE), located in Chengdu, Sichuan Province, is a national key university directly under the Ministry of Education of the People's Republic of China. It is jointly built by the Ministry of Education and Sichuan Province, and is a key construction university under the national "Double First-Class" initiative, "Project 211", and "Project 985 Advantage Discipline Innovation Platform". It is also one of the first batch of pilot institutions in Sichuan for the "Quality Certification of International Students in China". The history of SWUFE can be traced back to Guanghua University, founded in Shanghai in 1925. In 1938, due to the War of Resistance against Japan, Guanghua University moved inland and established the Chengdu Branch. During the nationwide college reorganization from 1952 to 1953, the finance and economics departments of 17 institutions in Southwest China were merged to form Sichuan Institute of Finance and Economics. After undergoing separation, merger, and renaming in the 1960s, it was restored as Sichuan Institute of Finance and Economics in 1978. In 1979, it was placed under the administration of the People's Bank of China. It was renamed Southwestern University of Finance and Economics in 1985. In 1997, it became a key university under "Project 211". In 2000, it was transferred to the direct administration of the Ministry of Education as an independent institution. In 2011, it became a university under the "Project 985 Advantage Discipline Innovation Platform". In 2017, it became a "Double First-Class" construction university. As of March 2025, SWUFE has two campuses, Guanghua and Liulin, covering an area of over 2,300 mu. It has 26 teaching units, offers 46 undergraduate programs, and has 6 post-doctoral research stations, 10 first-level doctoral degree authorization disciplines, 3 professional doctoral degree categories, 4 first-level master's degree authorization disciplines, and 19 professional master's degree categories. It has over 15,300 full-time undergraduate students, over 8,500 master's students, and over 1,400 doctoral students. On June 3, 1925, amid the anti-imperialist patriotic movement of the "May 30th Incident" in Shanghai, hundreds of faculty and students left Saint John's University to establish Guanghua University. On September 12, the school held its opening ceremony at the Xiafei Road campus. On August 13, 1937, the Battle of Shanghai broke out, and the Great West Road campus of Guanghua University was burned down by Japanese forces. Then-President Zhang Shouyong decided to establish a branch in Sichuan, and Xie Lin, then Dean of the Business School of Guanghua University, was entrusted to prepare for the branch in Sichuan. Guanghua University gate; group photo of all faculty and staff at the first opening of Guanghua University; 1934 photo of the Third Accounting Association of Guanghua University; Guanghua University emblem; groundbreaking ceremony of the Chengdu Branch of Guanghua University. In 1945, after the victory of the War of Resistance, Guanghua University decided to re-establish its campus in Shanghai. In view of the Ministry of Education's resolution that "universities shall not permanently establish branches in other places", the board of directors of Guanghua University wrote to the Ministry of Education, proposing to follow the plan agreed upon by President Zhang Shouyong and Vice President Xie Lin to transfer the Chengdu Branch to local Sichuanese. The school was renamed Chenghua University, meaning Chengdu Guanghua University, becoming a sister school to Guanghua University in Shanghai. In November, the Ministry of Education approved the transfer of the Guanghua Chengdu campus to Sichuanese. Documents reporting the transfer; group photo of Chenghua University graduates in 1952. In October 1952, the school came under the leadership of the Southwest Military and Political Committee (restructured as the Southwest Administrative Committee in March 1953). Following the instructions of the committee, Chenghua University became a public institution. It was then merged with the transferred Chengdu Accounting College, the Economics Department of West China University, the Business Administration Department of North Sichuan University, and the Banking and Insurance Department of Chongqing Business College to form Sichuan Institute of Finance and Economics.

Sources & verification

Verification
Verified
Verified on
2026-09-20
Last updated
2026-11-06
Source notes
Southwestern University of Finance and Economics — 2026 application guide and funding details for Southwestern University of Finance and Economics 2026 Belt and Road Scholarship for International Students (verified by the user)

Confirm requirements, funding and deadlines in the admissions office’s current announcement.